8 Pack User File
The user defined as record #1 in the user file can use this command to pack the user file while other users are online. When you pack the user file, you can eliminate users who have not called for a while or that have been marked to be deleted. After executing this command, several questions will be asked to help determine the users that should be packed. The following details each of the questions that will be asked.
Pack the user file?
This question is asked to confirm that you want to pack the user file. Valid responses are:
| N | Do not pack the user file. Instead, return to the conference command prompt. |
| Y | Continue packing the user file. Additional questions will be asked that will determine what criteria you want to use for deleting users (if any). |
Keep 'Locked Out' users?
Locked out users are those that have a security level of 0 but have not been marked for deletion. Your response to this question will determine whether these users will be deleted. Valid responses are:
| N | Locked out users will be deleted from the user file. Since the locked out records will be removed, the users will no longer be prevented from logging in under the name that was previous locked out. |
| Y | Locked out users records will remain in the user file. This will prevent these users from logging into the system again. |
Purge older than
Your response to this question will determine the cutoff date for deleting inactive users from the user file. The default date is 010180 implying that no users will be removed for inactivity. For example, if you want to delete all users who have not called since April 1st, 1994, you would enter 040194 in this field.
Keep whose security =>
Quite often it is desirable to exempt users of a certain security level or higher from being packed out of the user file. The default security level is 100 which prevents anyone of this security level or higher from being deleted when the user file is packed.